Rain made sure there was no play between Sri Lanka and New Zealand in the first ODI of the five-match series at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium on Thursday.

Heavy rain started well before the game was due to begin and the covers were never in danger of being removed. The next two games will be played in Colombo, followed by two matches in Hambantota.

The limited-overs leg of this tour, which will also feature two Tests, was marred by inclement weather earlier in the week, when the one-off T20I was declared a washout.

Sri Lanka squad: Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Akila Dananjaya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Shaminda Eranga, Rangana Herath, Tharindu Kaushal, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Upul Tharanga, Lahiru Thirimanne.

New Zealand squad: Ross Taylor, Trent Boult, Andrew Ellis, James Franklin, Ronnie Hira, Tom Latham, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne, Rob Nicol, Jacob Oram, Tim Southee, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson.