New Zealand endured a torrid opening day to the first Test against Sri Lanka in Galle, finding themselves all out for 221 thanks to spinner Rangana Herath's five-fer.

At stumps, Sri Lanka's reply sat on nine for one, with debutant Dimuth Kuranaratne back in the hut for a duck. They had faced five overs, after the Black Caps were dismissed an hour after tea.

Brendon McCullum and Daniel Flynn scored half centuries and enjoyed a 90-run stand in the afternoon to make sure the visitors posted a respectable total, as the rest of the order failed to find their feet.

New Zealand went into tea on day one of the first Test against Sri Lanka on 155 for six, with Daniel Flynn scoring 53 and his wicket bringing on the session break in Galle.

Earlier, the Black Caps' innings got off to the worst possible start as they lost Martin Guptill and Kane Williamson in the same over when the score was on 29. Guptill was caught by Angelo Mathews off Shaminda Eranga, and Williamson faced only two balls before being caught by Paranavitana.

Skipper Ross Taylor was the other man to fall in the morning session, bowled by Nuwan Kulasekara for nine off eight balls. This left MCullum and Flynn to take the score from 40 for three towards something respectable. At lunch, McCullum was on 38 and Flynn on 21.

McCullum had scored his 68 runs off 125 balls, including two sixes and eight boundaries before being bowled by Herath in the afternoon session. Flynn then had to bat with James Franklin, who faced 43 balls for his three runs before also falling to the spinner, trapped LBW with the score on 142.

Kruger van Wyk was the only other batsman to pass 20 runs, making 28 after tea alongside first Doug Bracewell and then Tim Southee. Trent Boult was the final wicket to fall, bowled by Kulasekara.

Sri Lanka had to bat for five overs before the close, but were unable to escape unscathed as the debutant faced three balls before being trapped LBW by Southee Tharanga Paranavitana and night watchman Suraj Randiv were both still on zero at stumps.

Sri Lanka: Paranavitana, Karunaratne, Sangakkara, M Jayawardene, Samaraweera, Mathews, P Jayawardene, Kulasekara, R Herath, S Randiv, S Eranga

New Zealand: Guptill, McCullum, Williamson, Taylor, van Wyk, Franklin, Flynn, Patel, Southee, Bracewell, Boult