The Indian Premier League, in its seventh edition this year, will be staged in three countries this year.

The opening 16 fixtures will be played in the United Arab Emirates from 16 April, while the next phase be hosted by Bangladesh between 1 and 12 May. The final chapter will take place in India until 1 June.

South Africa had hosted the tournament in 2009 and was considered as one of the alternative venues this year, but was ultimately snubbed.

The 2014 IPL, in part, was forced away from India due to federal elections, which didn't allow the government the opportunity to provide the security required for a world event of such stature.

"For the period from Thursday 1st May to Monday 12th May, BCCI has approached the Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India, seeking permission to play IPL matches in India in cities where the polling has concluded in the respective state," read an IPL media release.

"If it is not possible to play in India during this period, IPL matches will be held in Bangladesh. From Tuesday 13th May (once polling has concluded in all states), the remaining league matches plus the play-offs will be played in India. There will be no matches scheduled on the counting day of Friday, 16th May."

The Mumbai Indians are the current title holders, while the Kolkata Knight Riders, Deccan Chargers and Rajasthan Royals were crowned champions in 2012, 2009 and 2008 respectively. The Chennai Super Kings won the Twenty20 showpiece in 2010 and 2011.