The uncapped Moises Henriques and Glenn Maxwell have been named in Australia's Test squad for the four-match Test series against India in February and March.

Fast bowler James Pattinson, spinner Xavier Doherty and batsman Steven Smith have also been recalled. Pattinson has not played for the Australians since November 2012 due to a side injury, while Doherty and Smith last played Test cricket in the 2010-11 Ashes series.

Right-armer Ben Hilfenhaus has been excluded from a five-man seam-bowling department that also includes left-armers Mitchell Johnson and Mitchell Starc, the in-form Peter Siddle and the relatively inexperienced Jackson Bird.

Bird has retained his place after an impressive debut series against Sri Lanka recently, while spinner Steven O'Keefe was not picked despite taking the most wickets in Australian first-class cricket this season. The left-handed Usman Khawaja has been selected in the absence of the recently retired Michael Hussey.

"This squad has the flexibility that will be required for the varying conditions expected in India and it will provide valuable experience to a number of young players," said national selector John Inverarity.

"The squad includes a spin bowling all-rounder in Maxwell and a medium-fast all-rounder in Henriques. In aiming for more depth in a bowling attack, the squad would allow for three pace bowlers, a leading spinner and Maxwell or two pace bowlers, the two spinners and Henriques. These are two of the options.

"We certainly feel Xavier is much improved in the longer format of the game since he made his Test debut in 2010-11 against England. He adds further flexibility to the squad, depending on the conditions."

Australia, meanwhile have hired former fast bowler Dennis Lillee, who will act as a mentor to the seamers prior to the tour, but won't travel with them to India.

"He will work closely with full-time bowling coach Ali de Winter as Australia prepare to tackle India in a Test series next month and then the highly-anticipated Ashes series in July," read a statement from Cricket Australia.

The first Test gets underway in Chennai on 22 February. Mohali, Hyderabad and Delhi will hosts fixtures two, three and four respectively.

Squad: Michael Clarke (captain), Shane Watson (vice-captain), Dave Warner, Ed Cowan, Phil Hughes, Usman Khawaja, Matthew Wade, Mitchell Johnson, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Xavier Doherty, Jackson Bird, James Pattinson, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith.