All-rounder Moises Henriques will make his Test debut in Australia's series opener against India, which gets underway in Chennai on Friday.

The tourists have confirmed their XI for the first of four Tests, with Henriques picked ahead of spinning all-rounder Glen Maxwell.

Left-armer Mitchell Johnson has been exlcuded from a four-man pace attack lined with the services of the in-form Peter Siddle and Mitchell Starc, the recalled James Pattinson and debutant Henriques.

Nathan Lyon is the lone specialist spinner, with left-armer Xavier Doherty overlooked. Fast bowler Jackson Bird and batsmen Usman Khawaja and Steven Smith have also been left out.

"It has happened very quickly. It wasn't really in my list of goals at the start of this first-class season, to make a Test debut. But with the situation it has sped up the process. I can't say how much I'm looking forward to the opportunity," enthused Henriques.

"It's a boyhood dream coming to life now. I lost a little bit of sleep last night just thinking about it. Hopefully the next two nights are a bit calmer but I can't imagine they will be."

Opening batsman David Warner has been picked despite the limited movement of his injured thumb. Warner was ruled out of February's ODI series against West Indies after fracturing his left thumb during practice.

He has since returned to facing fast bowling in the nets and will undergo a full fitness assessment on Wednesday.

"I am very confident of playing. I have had four long days of training. I have been hitting for an hour each session to get a feel of hitting the ball and putting myself under fatigue to see if I will get any pain as I go on," said Warner.

The left-handed Ed Cowan has been confirmed as Warner's opening partner, while returning all-rounder Shane Watson will bat in the middle order.

Australia: David Warner, Ed Cowan, Phillip Hughes, Shane Watson, Michael Clarke (captain), Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper), Moises Henriques, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, James Pattinson, Nathan Lyon.