England fast bowler Steve Finn, amongst others, will need to be very careful as of 1 October, after the MCC introduced a new law that states that a no-ball will be called if the non-striker stumps are broken during a bowler's follow-through.
The law comes as a result of confusion surrounding the situation in recent series, where Finn kept hitting the stumps with his right knee while bowling. He either got a warning or the ball was called dead, depending on the series, which caused much consternation.
But the MCC, who regulate the laws of the game, have now clarified the matter, saying it will be a no-ball and the batsman will get any runs they score off the ball. This rule will take effect on 1 October 2013.
MCC Head of Cricket, John Stephenson, said: "MCC continues to act as a robust Guardian of the Laws of Cricket, and must ensure that it consults widely within the amateur and professional game before making changes that will affect anyone who plays the game.
"MCC's decision today to make the breaking of the stumps during the act of delivery a No ball provides clarity to the situation and removes the need for a subjective assessment to be made by the umpire as to whether the striker has been genuinely distracted or not.
"It also ensures that the striker will still be credited with any runs that he scores from the delivery, and will act as a significant disincentive to the bowler from doing it."