South Africa batsman Jacques Kallis was right to be furious at the manner of his dismissal on day two of the second Test against Pakistan, with officials admitting after the day's play that the umpires had made an incorrect decision.
Kallis was given out with his score on two, seemingly caught at bat-pad. But he denied touching the ball and asked for a review, which showed he hadn't edged it. But third umpire Billy Bowden then said he was out LBW instead, and the 'umpire's call' determination was enforced.
Kallis was angry and refused to leave the field for a while, arguing that he should have been not out, as the original decision was for a catch. The confusion was later clarified, when the officials said the original decision should have reverted to 'not out' when the manner of dismissal changed, which would have made the umpire's call go in Kallis' favour.
The Playing Control Team (PCT) issued a statement on the dismissal of Kallis: "The PCT made an honest error in this extremely rare situation.
"The umpires followed usual umpiring principles in giving Kallis out lbw on umpire's call the review was for the batsman out caught. This is because the normal principle is that an appeal covers all forms of dismissal.
"However, the playing conditions state that when the third umpire observes that the batsman could be out by another mode of dismissal, the decision being reviewed using DRS should be as if the batsman had been originally given not out.
"Therefore, in this instance Kallis, as the point of impact was umpire's call, should not have been given out lbw."
As it was, the South Africans were deep in the mire, at the close of play, five wickets down for 139 and still 199 runs behind Pakistan's first innings score of 338 all out.