The big news ahead of the first Test between India and Australia in Chennai is that spinner Harbhajan Singh will play his 100th Test for the hosts, 15 years after making his debut against the same opposition.

The rest of the side will only be announced at the toss, but the BCCI confirmed that the spinner, who has only played one Test in the past 18 months, will indeed be running out for his century cap.

The sides' form coming into the series are quite different, with India not recording a win in their past three Tests, while Australia are aiming for four wins in a row. Head-to-head though, the Aussies have the upper hand, winning the most recent encounter in 2011 four games to nil.

Aside from the Bhajji news, where India are set to go with three, maybe four, spinners, India will be without their traditional opening batting pair. Gautam Gambhir has been dropped for the first two Tests, meaning Virender Sehwag will likely open with Murali Vijay.

The Aussies, as usual, have already announced their side, with a few surprises in the mix. Firstly, David Warner will open the batting, despite the risk of permanent damage to his broken thumb if it gets hit again.

This means Shane Watson's wish of batting at the top will not come true and he will bat at four, providing stability to the young middle order. There's no Ricky Ponting or Mike Hussey this time to provide spin experience.

Otherwise, Moises Henriques will make his debut as the side's all-rounder, beating out Glenn Maxwell for the job, while Nathan Lyon is the spin option. Unlike India, who are going with Ishant Sharma as a lone paceman, the Aussies are going with a battery of quicks.

Key Men
The current in-form man is Cheteshwar Pujara for India, and they will need him to provide stability in the top order, and knuckle down like he is wont to do, especially in light of Tendulkar and Virat Kohli's recent failures.

The Aussies will look to their captain, Michael Clarke, to continue his 2012 form and add a few double hundreds to his tally. The pressure is on him, which he enjoys, and if he gets set then a big score will be on the cards.

Last Five Head-To-Head Results
2012: Fourth Test: Australia won by 298 runs in Adelaide
2012: Third Test: Australia won by an innings and 37 runs in Perth
2012: Second Test: Australia won by an innings and 68 runs in Sydney
2011: First Test: Australia won by a 122 runs in Melbourne
2010: Second Test: India won by seven wickets in Bangalore

Online betting firm Sky Bet have India at 6/5 and Australia at 11/4 in the odds to win the first Test. Visit Sky Bet for the latest cricket betting.

More cricket bets here.

India (probable): Virender Sehwag, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (capt and wk), R Ashwin, Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, Pragyan Ojha

Australia (confirmed): David Warner, Ed Cowan, Phillip Hughes, Shane Watson, Michael Clarke (captain), Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper), Moises Henriques, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, James Pattinson, Nathan Lyon.

Dates: 22-26 February
Morning session: 09:30-11:30 (04:00-06:00 GMT)
Afternoon session: 12:10-14:10 (06:40-08:40 GMT)
Evening session: 14:30-16:30 (09:00-11:00 GMT)
On-field umpires: Kumar Dharmasena and Marais Erasmus
Third umpire:BCCI appointment
Match referee: Chris Broad