The West Indies will be without all-rounder Kieron Pollard for the World Twenty20 in March after he failed to recover from a knee injury, while fast bowler Kemar Roach is also unavailable.

The Windies named their 15-man squad on Wednesday, adding Johnson Charles and uncapped Sheldon Cottrell to the list of 13 to face Ireland this week. Cottrell, who made his Test debut last year, is one of only two specialist pacemen.

He joins Ravi Rampaul as the only premier fast bowlers, as Roach is injured and Tino Best failed to crack the nod. As such, spinners Sunil Narine and Sam Badree will carry much of the pressure for the defending champions.

On the positive side, Darren Sammy and Chris Gayle are back in action after injury, as is all-rounder Marlon Samuels, who was a major reason for his side's win in 2012.

Denesh Ramdin is expected to keep wicket, despite the inclusion of wicketkeeper-batsman Charles.

West Indies ICC World Twenty20 squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Samuel Badree, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Krishmar Santokie, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith