New Zealand go into the second Test against India with a series lead, having won the first encounter by 40 runs and with a day to spare, and they will be confident their bowlers will be able to do the job again.

India were bowled out cheaply twice in Auckland, with the Kiwi quicks performing admirably, and now they come to the Basin Reserve that has a green top made for the likes of Trent Boult and Tim Southee.

The last time they played here, the Kiwis demolished the West Indies in less than three days. Though the India batting line up is substantially better, on paper anyway, the visitors will need all their wits about them.

On the plus side for India, the hosts are missing star batsman Ross Taylor as his wife is on the brink of giving birth. His replacement originally was the dangerous Jesse Ryder, but he was dropped due to misbehaving off the field, so India got lucky again as he was replaced by debutant Tom Latham.

Still, they should not be too comfortable against Latham, who averages above 68 in the Plunkett Shield this season. Also added to the side is all-rounder Jimmy Neesham, replacing spinner Ish Sodhi for this specific track.

India will look to Mohammed Shami for their wickets, as they have been in recent months, while Ishant Sharma will hope that the helpful track will give him some wickets and help get the critics off his back.

Key Men
For the hosts, they will be looking to everyone's favourite all-rounder right now, Corey Anderson. Newly purchased by the Mumbai Indians for the IPL, he will be eager to get some time against India's finest, with both bat and ball.

The visitors need someone in the top order to score runs, and will look to Virat Kohli for that. Though they have Cheteshwar Pujara and Shikhar Dhawan too, Kohli is usually the man to save the day.

Last Five Head-To-Head Results
2014, First Test: New Zealand won by 40 runs in Auckland
2012: Second Test: India won by five wickets in Bangalore
2012: First Test: India won by an innings and 115 runs in Hyderabad
2010: Third Test: India won by an innings and 198 runs in Nagpur
2010: Second Test: Match drawn in Hyderabad

New Zealand (confirmed): Peter Fulton, Hamish Rutherford, Kane Williamson, Tom Latham, Brendon McCullum, Corey Anderson, BJ Watling, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult, Jimmy Neesham.

India (probable): Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma.

Dates: 14 to 18 February
Morning session: 11:00-13:00 (22:00-24:00 GMT, previous day)
Afternoon session: 13:40-15:40 (03:00-05:00 GMT)
Evening session: 16:00-18:00 (02:30-04:30 GMT)
On-field umpires: Steve Davis and Richard Kettleborough
Third umpire: Derek Walker
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle