WC venue guide: Bellerive Oval, Hobart

2015 World Cup

Established: 1914
Capacity: 16,200
Floodlights: Yes
Ends: Church Street End, River End
Home Team: Tasmania
ODI History: 21 ODIs; 13 home wins; 18 away wins; 2 other


Situated on the eastern bank of the Derwent River, the Bellerive Oval has served as the headquarters of Tasmanian cricket since 1987 – and is also known as the Blundstone Arena.

The Oval has undergone two major upgrades in the past 25 years; first in the mid-1980s, which saw the construction of a new grandstand, training facilities and the laying of a new surface and wicket. The investment paid dividends, with the ground hosting its first international match in 1988, followed by its first Test match in 1989.

In the early 2000s further development occurred, with the addition of indoor training facilities, a new Southern Stand, and an upgraded Member's Area that includes media facilities. In 2009 floodlights were erected, allowing for day-night matches.

Traditionally the surface in Hobart is one that favours the batsmen, with a bit of early assistance the most the bowlers can hope for before the track becomes a flat batsman's paradise. But the wicket was relaid in August of 2012, and an uneven and erratic surface resulted in complaints from batsmen.

The colder climate in the south, together with a mysterious sea breeze, means that atmospheric conditions can have more of an effect on proceedings than at many other grounds around Australia.

Top ODI total: 344 for seven by Australia vs Zimbabwe in 2004

Favours batting/bowling: Batting. There has been five totals of more than 300 in only 21 matches. In addition, 18 individual players have also scored centuries.

Best ODI batsman: Sachin Tedulkar has 296 runs in five innings. He has scored three fifties and has an average of 59.20 at a strike-rate of 83.85.

Best ODI bowler: Wasim Akram 11 wickets in six innings. The left-armer's best bowling in an innings was three for 13, with an average of 14.54, his economy rate is an amazing 2.86.


Sat Mar 7: Pool B – Ireland v Zimbabwe
Wed Mar 11: Pool A – Scotland v Sri Lanka
Sat Mar 14: Pool A – Australia v Scotland

Most exciting match-up: Sat Mar 7: Pool B – Ireland v Zimbabwe