Scotland name squad for CWCQ18

2019 Cricket World Cup

The Scotland squad that will be competing for one of two spots at the 2019 Cricket World Cup in a qualifier in Zimbabwe has been announced.

Kyle Coetzer continues in the role of captain bt the squad does welcome some fresh faces in the form of Michael Jones and Tom Sole.

Safyaan Sharif, Stuart Whittingham and Alasdair Evans as well as the Hampshire based pair of Brad Wheal and Chris Sole make up the seam bowling contingent of the squad.

Skipper Kyle Coetzer said, “We are all looking forward to the challenges ahead. The squad has been preparing efficiently, taking into consideration the conditions and the opposition we will face.

“The quality of the competition ahead will be higher and better than ever before, especially with four Full Member nations also required to qualify. There is nothing to fear, it is merely something we openly speak about and embrace.

We hope to be in a position by the end of the tournament to not only qualify for the World Cup but also defend our title from the previous qualifying campaign. We have the depth within our squad to make this a reality and we will be raring to go when the opening game comes around.”

Scotland coach Grant Bradburn feels that his team are in with a shout of making it to the big show.

Bardburn said: “The challenge to qualify for the World Cup is tough for all teams, but we have selected an outstanding group who are confident and ready to take on that mission.

“The squad have had an excellent preparation phase over the winter months in Dubai including quality game and planning time leading into Zimbabwe. The team are now very familiar with the style of cricket that suits our individuals, which is also a style we believe will win the World Cup qualifiers.

“We have selected a nicely balanced side while the players themselves are determined to have no fear of bringing their dynamic skill sets coupled with a bloody-minded determination that reflects the prize at stake.

“We welcome the new faces into the squad in Michael Jones and Tom Sole who have both adapted very quickly and shown their fantastic International qualities on the recent tour to Dubai. While the side will miss several experienced players of recent times, it contains a strong heart of quality proven players who are relishing the opportunity to step forward and dominate for Scotland.”

Scotland squad: Kyle Coetzer (captain), Richie Berrington (vice-captain), Matthew Cross, Alasdair Evans, Michael Jones, Michael Leask, Calum MacLeod, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Chris Sole, Tom Sole, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt, Brad Wheal, Stuart Whittingham.