CPL tournament dates set

Caribbean Premier League

The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) and Cricket West Indies (CWI) have agreed on a window for the 2018 edition of the tournament.

This year’s event will take place between 8th August and 16th September. The opening round of matches will take place in Trinidad & Tobago and Guyana.

This window means that there will be no clash with international fixtures.

All West Indies players will be available for the tournament in 2018 and will be able submit their names for this year’s draft.

In 2018 the very best Caribbean cricketing talent will be on display at the CPL.

Speaking about the agreement to host the tournament when there are no international commitments for the West Indies, Pete Russell, Chief Operating Officer of the CPL said: “Here in the Caribbean we are blessed with some of the most exciting cricketers in the world and it is fantastic news that all West Indies players will be available in 2018. It will help make the Biggest Party in Sport even bigger.”


Johnny Grave, CEO of Cricket West Indies, said: “The Hero CPL is now the start of our domestic season and we are delighted that we have found a window when all of the best cricketers from the Caribbean will be available to take part. We are sure that 2018 will be the biggest season yet.”

First started in 2013, the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is a franchise-based T20 format cricket tournament that combines two of the most compelling aspects of Caribbean life – dramatic cricket and a vibrant Carnival atmosphere.

Combining broadcast and digital viewership over 197 million fans watched the 2017 season to make it one of the fastest growing leagues in world cricket.

Trinbago Knight Riders are the current Hero CPL champions and the other competing teams are Barbados Tridents, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots, St. Lucia Stars and Jamaica Tallawahs.