Mathews reappointed Sri Lanka ODI captain

Angelo Mathews has been reappointed as Sri Lanka’s limited-overs captain, six months after he quit the role.

The 30-year-old Mathews, who resigned as captain in June following an ODI series defeat at to Zimbabwe, will take the leadership role again after new Sri Lanka coach Chandika Hathurusingha saw him as the best man for the job.

Hathurusingha has worked with Mathews before, in 2008 and 2010, at A team level and clearly shows the pack of leadership options in Sri Lanka cricket.

Mathews said: “When I stepped down I never thought of taking over the captaincy again. But as soon as we came back from India, the president had a discussion with me.

“Also Hathu aiya, and the selectors spoke to me and asked me to consider taking up the captaincy again. I took a few a few days to think about it, and because of a few reasons I decided to accept.

“I’ve also known Hathu aiya for a long time and I know how he operates. He’s not here just to survive. It’ll be very easy to work with him. When you have a coach like him that other countries are desperate to have, it’s a great thing.

“Cricket has given me a lot. If I turn my back in the hour of need I’ll not have done right by cricket.”

Hathurusingha said: “My thought was that he’s the best person to lead the ODI team because he warrants a place on his own performance.

“The only concern we had was his physical fitness and we have a plan in place to help him.”

Meanwhile, Dinesh Chandimal has retained the Test captaincy and been recalled to the ODI squad for the upcoming tri-series in Bangladesh involving the hosts and Zimbabwe.

Shehan Madushanka, a 22-year-old fast bowler, has also been called up for the first time despite playing only three first-class and three List A games in his career.

It is thought that Madushanka’s selection came on the recommendation of Hathurusingha who wants to develop Sri Lanka’s pace bowling depth.

Sri Lanka ODI squad: Angelo Mathews (capt), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Shehan Madushanka, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Wanindu Hasaranga