Ashwin named in India squad for Sydney Test


India have included spinner Ravi Ashwin in their 13-man squad for the fourth and final Test against Australia but fast bowler Ishant Sharma misses out.

Ishant felt some discomfort in his left rib-cage and team management has decided not to risk him for the game that India just have to draw to secure the the series that starts in Sydney on Thursday.

The decision to include Ashwin is puzzling as it was said that he failed a fitness test just two hours before the squad was announced.

KL Rahul returns and could replace Rohit Sharma who has flown back to India due to the birth of his daughter.

Left-arm wrist-spinner Kuldeep Yadav was also included which will leave the tourists with the option of playing two slow-bowlers if the pitch allows with Ravi Jadeja set to keep his place in the team.

Allrounder Hardik Pandya was not picked so India will not play an allrounder with batsman Hanuma Vihari’s off-spinners providing another bowling option for captain Virat Kohli.

India squad: Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (capt), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav