Australia number 1 as ICC launches Women’s T20I rankings


Three-time Women’s World T20 champions Australia lead the inaugural 46-team table, which follows the decision earlier this year to award international status to all T20 matches between Member countries.

Scotland are the top ranked Associate Member in 11th, while Thailand take 12th place in the first table following some good performances of late, including a win over Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup earlier this year.

All women’s T20 matches between Members have international status since the Asia Cup in June and the new rankings system will help teams gauge where they stand in the shortest format of the game.

Teams will have to play six T20I matches in the previous three to four years to remain on the rankings table.

The system moves away from the combined rankings in place earlier and there is now a separate Women’s ODI team rankings table with 10 teams, in line with the men’s rankings, which are separate for each format.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said: “We are committed to growing the game and T20 is the vehicle through which we’ll do this.

“Global rankings and international status for all T20 games between Members is a huge step forward and will contribute to our efforts to accelerate the growth of the women’s game.

The new rankings will provide incentive for teams to play regularly and mark their progress globally. I wish teams all the best.”

Australia, who were top-ranked in the combined rankings system, are now ranked number one in both forms of the game and lead trans-Transman rivals New Zealand by three points in the T20I rankings table.

Australia are on 280 points, New Zealand on 277 while England are just a further one point behind with 276 points.

Australia, will however, have to win their upcoming three-match T20I series from 25 to 29 October against Pakistan in Malaysia by a 3-0 margin to retain their top ranking. Pakistan will be unable to overtake sixth-ranked South Africa even if they pull off a shock 3-0 win.

The Windies, who will defend their Women’s World T20 title at home from 9-24 November, are ranked fourth with 259 points and India are a further 10 points behind in fifth place.

The next five teams on the table – South Africa, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Ireland – complete the lineup for the West Indies event.

The list includes nine sides from Europe, 14 from Asia, 13 from Africa, four each from East Asia Pacific and the Americas, apart from Australia and the West Indies.

Both old and new teams on the rankings table have welcomed the global rankings, which coincide with the annual update and have been introduced with less than a month to go for the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 in the West Indies.

Rank Team Points
1 Australia 280
2 New Zealand 277
3 England 276
4 West Indies 259
5 India 249
6 South Africa 243
7 Pakistan 227
8 Sri Lanka 207
9 Bangladesh 193
10 Ireland 188
11 Scotland 150
12 Thailand 146
13 Zimbabwe 145
14 UAE 130
15 Uganda 127
16 Kenya 121
17 PNG 120
18 Nepal 117
19 Samoa 106
20 Tanzania 89
21 Hong Kong 81
22 Indonesia 80
23 Netherlands 76
24 Qatar 74
25 China 73
26 Namibia 63
27 Japan 57
28 Botswana 49
29 Argentina 48
30 Sierra Leone 44
31 Malaysia 43
32 Germany 43
33 Oman 36
34 Brazil 33
35 Vanuatu 29
36 France 25
37 Mozambique 21
38 Denmark 20
39 Zambia 11
40 Malawi 10
41 Belgium 9
42 Chile 7
43 Peru 0
44 Lesotho 0
45 Swaziland 0
46 Singapore 0