Bangladesh battle back to break even


Mashrafe Mortaza shone as Bangladesh put in a strong performance to beat England by 34 runs in the second ODI in Dhaka to restore parity in the three match series at 1-1.

The hosts were inserted by Jos Buttler and found themselves in trouble early on as Chris Woakes removed both openers in his fourth and fifth overs before Jake Ball left the Tigers up against it at 39 for 3 in the 14th over.

Mohammad Mahmudullah (75) led the hosts’ fightback, putting on 50 with Mushfiqur Rahim before Ball accounted for the wicketkeeper, and then helping to rally the Tigers lower order.

Key lower order runs were provided by Mosaddek Hossain (29), Nasir Hossain (27*) and skipper Mashrafe Mortaza (44).

Mashrafe averages just over 14 in ODIs but struck 2 fours and three sixes to help Bangaldesh post a defendable score of 238 for 8.

Woakes finished as the pick of the England bowlers with figures of 2/40.

England found themselves 26 for four early on in reply as Mashrafe accounted for James Vince (5), Jason Roy (13) and Ben Stokes (0) while Shakib-al-Hasan dismissed young Ben Duckett for a duck.

Buttler and Jonny Bairstow would put on 79 before Taskin Ahmed had the latter caught behind for 35 to leave England 105 for 5.

Nasir, who didn’t play in the opener, would then remove Moeen Ali cheaply as England began to stumble yet again.

Taskin picked up the vital wicket of Buttler after electing to review an unsuccessful appeal in the 28th over. Buttler would share an angry confrontation with the Bangladesh players after his dismissal which we will no doubt learn more about in the coming days.

Woakes (7) departed soon after to leave England on the brink of defeat.

A spirited last stand between Jake Ball and Adil Rashid added respectability to the tourists total but proved too little too late as England slumped to defeat by 34 runs after being bowled out for 204.

Mashrafe was the pick of the bowlers and took home the man of the match award with his figures of 4 for 29 and handy 44 off 29 balls.

The series will be decided in Chittagong on Wednesday.