BCCI axe Smith, Warner from this season’s IPL

Indian Premier League chairman Rajiv Shukla has confirmed that Steve Smith and David Warner will not take part in this season’s IPL following the one-year bans handed out to the duo by Cricket Australia on Wednesday.

Smith and Warner were both suspended due to their role in the pre-meditated plan to tamper with the ball during the third Test against South Africa at Newlands.

ALSO READ: CA ban Smith and Warner for one year

The suspensions were only for top level cricket in Australia but the BCCI has now taken it upon themselves to ban the pair from their T20 franchise tournament.

Smith had already lost the captaincy of the Rajasthan Royals, who appointed Ajinkya Rahane as their skipper, while Warner also stood down his leadership role at the  Sunrisers Hyderabad earlier on Wednesday.

In an article published on ESPNCricnfo, Shukla was quoted as saying: “We respect the decision of Cricket Australia, now they have banned these players for one year, keeping that in mind we have also decided in IPL these two players can’t play.”

The BCCI said in a statement: “The CoA, in consultation with BCCI acting president Mr CK Khanna, IPL chairman Mr Rajeev Shukla and BCCI acting hon. secretary Mr Amitabh Choudhary, has decided to ban Mr Smith and Mr Warner with immediate effect from participation in IPL 2018.

“The BCCI hopes that the cricketers participating in the IPL hold the highest regard for the Spirit of Cricket and Code of Conduct for Players and Match Officials.”

The third player charged in the scandal, Cameron Bancroft, was given a nine-month ban by Cricket Australia.