Chandimal included in Sri Lanka Test squad despite looming ban

Sri Lanka have included Dinesh Chandimal in their squad for the two Tests at home against the Proteas but the captain is unlikely to play in the series as he is likely to be banned.

Chandimal, who missed the final Test against the West Indies on their recent tour after being found guilty of ball-tampering, and Sri Lanka coach Chandika Hathurusingha have pleaded guilty to a level three spirit of cricket offence.

The ICC charged the duo for their roles in delaying the start of play for almost two hours on day three of the Test in St Lucia after the ball-tampering row.

The minimum punishment for this offence is a suspension from two Tests, which means Sri Lanka could be without a captain and coach for the series against the Proteas.

ALSO READ: Sri Lanka to beg the ICC for leniency for Chandimal and Co

The hearing is due to be held on 10 July, two days before the start of the first Test against Proteas in Galle.

Suranga Lakmal will lead the side if Chandimal is absent after the seamer captained the team to a series-leveling win in the final Test in the Caribbean.

Another addition to the Test squad is left-arm wristspinner Lakshan Sandakan, who joins veteran Rangana Herath, Akila Dananjaya and Dilruwan Perera as the slow-bowlers in the 17-man party.

Opening batsman Dimuth Karunaratne is likely to return to the top of the order after missing the tour to the West Indies due to a fractured hand.

Sri Lanka Test squad: Dinesh Chandimal (capt), Angelo Mathews, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera (subject to fitness), Danushka Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Rangana Herath (subject to fitness), Suranga Lakmal (vice capt), Dilruwan Perera, Akila Dananjaya, Lahiru Kumara, Lakshan Sandakan, Kasun Rajitha