Chandimal to lead much-changed T20I squad


In the absence of injured captain Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal will serve as stand-in skipper when Sri Lanka meet Australia in two T20Is later this month.

Seam bowler Kasun Rajitha has earned a recall to the squad alongside allrounders Thisara Perera and Milinda Siriwardana, batsman Chamara Kapugedara, and spinner Sachithra Senanayake.

Mathews is absent due to injury but other notable exclusions are batsmen Danushka Gunathilaka and Niroshan Dickwella, plus all-rounder Ramith Rambukwella.

After a promising ODI series Sachith Pathirana could be in line to make his T20I debut against Australia while another promising talent, Amila Aponso has been overlooked for these two matches.

The series will mark the end of Tillakaratne Dilshan’s long and distinguished international career.

Suranga Lakmal joins Rajitha as the only specialist seam bowler’s in the squad, with Sri Lanka yet again set to rely heavily on spin bowling allrounders as Senanayake is the only specialist spin bowler.

Sri Lanka T20 squad: Dinesh Chandimal (capt.), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Dananjaya de Silva, Chamara Kapugedara, Milinda Siriwardana, Kusal Mendis, Seekkuge Prasanna, Sachithra Senanayake, Suranga Lakmal, Thisara Perera, Sachith Pathirana, Kasun Rajitha, Dasun Shanaka.