India rest big guns for ODIs


India have elected to rest Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami for the first three ODIs of the forthcoming series against New Zealand.

The series gets underway on October 16, and priority is being given to keeping these bowlers fit for the remainder of what will be a very busy home Test season for India.

These three bowlers have been the spine of India’s bowling attack across the series against the West Indies and New Zealand.

All the regulars who were rested for the Zimbabwe tour have returned barring Shikhar Dhawan who is injured.

Suresh Raina earns a recall having not played an ODI since October 2015 while KL Rahul misses out on the squad through injury.

With Shami rested and Bhuvneshwar Kumar injured the pace attack will comprise Umesh Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya while the spin options will be Amit Mishra, Jayant Yadav and Axar Patel.

MS Dhoni retains the captaincy with no word yet as to when Virat Kolhi will take over.

India ODI squad: MS Dhoni (capt), Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Dhawal Kulkarni, Umesh Yadav, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav