India break record after innings victory over South Africa


India broke Australia’s record for the most consecutive Test series wins after their innings victory over South Africa in Pune.

They won the Test match after overcoming lower-order resistance from Vernon Philander and Keshav Maharaj in Pune, securing the series in the process.

The series win was their 11th in a row on home soil, surpassing Australia’s previous record of 10, which they registered twice between 1994 – 2001 and 2004 – 2009.

Virat Kohli put the hosts in complete control with a

The Proteas began day four following on 326 behind India’s 601 for five declared – including a career-best 254 not out by Virat Kohli, to add to his ever-growing list of cricketing records – and they were soon in deep trouble as they reached lunch 74 for four.

Quinton De Kock went straight after lunch and though Temba Bavuma made 38, the tourists crashed to 129 for seven before Philander and Maharaj, who scored 44 and 72 in a first-innings stand of 109 for the ninth wicket, came together once more.

READ: Silverwood: Anderson to decide when to retire from England


This time they added 56 for the eighth but when Philander was caught behind down the leg side off Umesh Yadav for 37, the last three wickets fell in eight ball with Maharaj last out for 22.

Yadav took three for 22 and Ravindra Jadeja three for 52 as India won by an innings and 137 runs to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

The third and final Test match starts on Saturday.