Rohit Sharma returns to lead India on white ball series against West Indies

Virat Kohli

India have named their squads for the ODI and T20I series against the West Indies at home in February 2022.

Rohit Sharma has been passed fit and will captain India in the white-ball series.

The West Indies’ tour of India will start with three ODIs at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, followed by three T20Is held at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

And Sharma will captain the side in both series, with vice-captain KL Rahul set to miss the opening ODI fixture before returning to the squad for the remaining five matches.

Kuldeep Yadav also makes a return after injury, while there are some new faces in the set-up as India experiment ahead of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022.

Young spinner Ravi Bishnoi has been called up for the first time with a spot in both squads, while dangerous batter Deepak Hooda has been handed a debut ODI squad place.

Bishnoi told Sportstar: “I have learned a lot from Anil sir, and those lessons have helped me in becoming a better cricketer. He would always guide me on how to back myself and never lose hope under pressure. Those things were of immense help.

“He always told me to play to my strengths. The advice was that I should stick to my basics and just execute the plans. There was no experiment. He gave me the confidence to play freely.”

T20 World Cup format proves to be a winner

Fast bowlers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami have been rested, while Ravindra Jadeja is unavailable as he continues his recovery from a knee injury.

Spin-bowling allrounder Axar Patel will miss the ODI series but return to the squad for the T20I matches.

Full ODI Squad
Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan.

Full T20I Squad
Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel.