Hafeez to discuss central contract demotion with PCB

Mohammad Hafeez is reportedly refusing to sign a new deal with the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) after the allrounder was demoted from a category A to B central contract.

The PCB announced a list of 33 players that were awarded central contracts with players categorised from A to E.

The players will also receive a 25-30 per cent pay hike as part of a new three year financial remuneration agreement.

The 37-year-old Hafeez, who has played in 50 Tests, 200 ODIs and 83 T20Is, though is not happy that he has been dropped to a category B contract.

A source close to the player told the Express Tribune: “Hafeez has decided to question the board why he was demoted to category B.

“If he don’t get any satisfactory answer, then he is considering making himself unavailable in future for the team selection and will part ways with the national team without taking official retirement.

“He will be talking to the board in the next two days. If their response isn’t satisfactory, than Hafeez he will prove selectors wrong by his performances on the pitch in the foreign leagues.”

Azhar Ali, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed, Yasir Shah and Mohammad Amir retain their places as category A players while Babar Azam joins that list.

Fakhar Zaman and Shadab Khan were both promoted from category C to B while Faheem Ashraf jumped from category D last year to category B after some impressive performances.

A notable absentee from the list is batsman Ahmed Shehzad, who is provisionally suspended from all cricket after he failed a random dope test in April and is awaiting a hearing.

Pakistan central contracts list:

Category A: Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Amir

Category B: Fakhar Zaman, Faheem Ashraf, Shadab Khan, Asad Shafiq, Mohammad Hafeez, Hasan Ali

Category C: Wahab Riaz, Shan Masood, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Usman Shinwari, Imad Wasim, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Abbas

Category D: Rumman Raees, Asif Ali, Usman Salahuddin, Hussain Talat, Rahat Ali

Category E: Bilal Asif, Saad Ali, Mir Hamza, Umaid Asif, Mohammad Rizwan, Sahibzada Farhan, Shaheen Shah Afridi