Kiwis to rest stars for Windies ODI series


New Zealand will rest captain Kane Williamson and Tim Southee for parts of the upcoming limited-overs series at home against the West Indies.

Williamson and seamer Southee will only play the first of three ODIs against the Windies before being replaced in the squad for the final two games by Neil Broom and Mitchell Santner.

Batsman Tom Latham will lead the side in Williamson’s absence.

Chief selector Gavin Larsen said: “It’s a long summer, so for those guys playing in all three formats it’s important we keep them fresh and build depth leading into a world cup year.

“Tim and Kane will both take breaks during this series, but there will be others who will also rest throughout the season.”

Fast bowler Lockie Ferguson has been recalled to the ODI squad while leg-spinner Todd Astle has replaced Ish Sodhi from the side that did duty in India.

Opener Martin Guptill has been ruled out with a hamstring injury with George Worker set to bat at the top of the order.

New Zealand ODI squad: Kane Williamson (capt.), Tim Southee [first ODI only for both], Todd Astle,Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Ross Taylor, George Worker

Neil Broome and Mitchell Santner (second and third ODIs only)