Daredevils break the IPL bank to buy Yuvraj


he Indian Premier League auction on Monday resulted in some interesting decisions by the franchises, with the most notable event the record-breaking sale of India all-rounder Yuvraj Singh to the Delhi Daredevils.

The Daredevils paid 2.65 million US dollars for the veteran, smashing all previous records. They also bought Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews for around 1.5 million USD, breaking the bank early in the day.

Other Sri Lanka stars were not as fortunate in the first round though, with veterans Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara going unsold, despite their relatively low base prices. Also unsold was South Africa batsman Hashim Amla.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad did some good early business though, buying former England batsman Kevin Pietersen for 400k USD, his lowest ever IPL price by half. Sunrisers also got a great deal in New Zealand all-rounder Kane Williamson, for a paltry 100k USD.

The Sunrisers continued their good work buy securing England ODI and T20 skipper Eoin Morgan to join his former team-mate, while Dinesh Karthik was another massive buy, going to Royal Challenegers Bangalore for nearly 2 million.

Australia were represented by Aaron Finch in the auction, and after a bit of a tussle he was sold to the Mumbai Indians for a round a million dollars. Mike Hussey was sold to Chennai, while paceman Sean Abbott got picked up by Bangalore.

Sold Players

M Vijay – Kings XI Punjab

Angelo Mathews – Delhi Daredevils

Kane Williamson – Sunrisers Hyderabad

Yuvraj Singh – Delhi Daredevils

Kevin Pietersen – Sunrisers Hyderabad

Dinesh Karthik – Royal Challengers Bangalore

Amit Mishra – Delhi Daredevils

Aaron Finch – Mumbai Indians

Eoin Morgan – Sunrisers Hyderabad

Michael Hussey – Chennai Super Kings

James Neesham – Kolkata Knight Riders

Ravi Bopara – Sunrisers Hyderabad

Chris Morris – Rajasthan Royals

Darren Sammy – Royal Challengers Bangalore

Trent Boult – Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sean Abbott – Royal Challengers Bangalore

Adam Milne – Royal Challengers Bangalore

Pragyan Ojha – Mumbai Indians

Rahul Sharma – Chennai Super Kings

Brad Hogg – Kolkata Knight Riders

Unsold Players

Hashim Amla

Kumar Sangakkara

Mahela Jayawardene

Ross Taylor

Alex Hales

Cameron White

Cheteshwar Pujara

Michael Carberry

Matthew Wade

Luke Ronchi

Morne van Wyk

Kusal Perera

Denesh Ramdin

Brendan Taylor

Marlon Samuels

Tillakaratne Dilshan

Irfan Pathan

Wayne Parnell

Zaheer Khan

Ben Hilfenhaus

Nathan Lyon

Ajantha Mendis