De Villiers, Mathews dominate ICC awards shortlists


South Africa's AB de Villiers and Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews were the notable repetitions on the ICC awards shortlists, with both nominated for the Cricketer of the Year gong.

Mathews was also nominated as the Test player, while De Villiers was on the ODI player of the Year shorlist. Both appeared on the ICC Test team of the tear, while De Villiers was also on the ODI team sheet.

Sri Lanka had a strong presence in general though, with Kumar Sangakkara also nominated for the top Cricket gong, as well as the Test award. Sangakkara could win his second Cricketer award, as could Mitchell Johnson, the final nominee.

In the voting period between 26 August 2013 and 17 September 2014, Johnson, who won the award in 2009, claimed 59 wickets in eight Tests at an impressive average of 15.23. This included two five-wicket and one 10-wicket hauls.

The left-arm fast bowler was equally impressive in 50 overs cricket when he notched up 21 wickets in 16 matches at an average of 33.04 with an economy rate of under five runs per over.
Sangakkara, who won this prestigious award in Colombo in 2012, finished as the leading run-getter during the same period with 1,502 runs in 11 Tests with four centuries and nine half-centuries. The left-hander averaged just over 75. In 26 ODIs, Sangakkara scored 1,046 in 26 matches at an average of just under 42 with three centuries and seven half-centuries.
Since the inception of the ICC Awards in 2004, no cricketer has won this award twice.
Mathews, who was the second highest run-getter in Tests with 1,292 runs at an average of 92.28 and backed up this performance with 965 runs in 28 ODIs at an average of just under 54, and De Villiers scored 932 runs in 10 Tests at an average of 54.8 and 963 runs in 20 ODIs at an average of over 60.

If Mathews or de Villiers win this year's award, then there will have been 12 different winners in the 11 year history of the ICC Awards. In 2005, Jacques Kallis and Andrew Flintoff were declared joint winners of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy.


ICC Cricketer of the Year: AB De Villiers, Mitchell Johnson, Angelo Mathews, Kumar Sangakkara

Test Cricketer of the Year: Mitchell Johnson, Angelo Mathews, Kumar Sangakkara, David Warner

ODI Cricketer of the Year: Quinton De Kock, AB De Villiers, MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Dale Steyn

T20 International Performance of the Year: Aaron Finch, Alex Hales, Rangana Herath

Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year: Charlotte Edwards, Mithali Raj, Sarah Taylor, Stafanie Taylor

Winner of the LG Peoples Choice award is Bhuvaneshwar Kumar

ICC Test Team of the Year: David Warner, Kane Williamson, Kumar Sangakkara, AB De Villiers, Joe Root, Angelo Mathews (capt), Mitchell Johnson, Stuart Broad, Dale Steyn, Rangana Herath, Tim Southee

ICC ODI Team of the Year: Mohammad Hafeez, Quinton De Kock, Virat Kohli, George Bailey, AB De Villiers, MS Dhoni(capt), D Bravo, James Faulkner, Dale Steyn, Mohammad Shami, Ajantha Mendis