Footage: 8 stunning boundary catches

Australia

Australia's Glenn Maxwell took a blinder on the boundary in the fourth ODi against England, taking advantage of the new catching laws, so we got to thinking about a few other ridiculous efforts on the ropes.

In 2013 the rules changed, and now fielders can take a catch after stepping out of bounds, as long as their feet are not grounded outside the rope. As such, they can be in the air, where before their needed to be grounded back inside the line.

Maxwell took the catch at Headingley to removed England's Liam Plunkett. Here's G-Maxi's effort:

<iframe width="450" height="253" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/7_6CuUSh83k" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Maxwell was no stranger to the new rules, after he ranted about them on Twitter during the Big Bash League in January. That time, Josh Lalor took a feet-in-the-air catch to remove Cameron White. Maxwell felt, and still feels despite his above catch, that feet should be on the ground.

Lalor's effort:

<iframe width="450" height="253" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/ll1V4WcTo2k" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

And in yet another instance involving Maxi, this time as the batsman, see this effort from West Indies all-rounder Kieron Pollard. This one didn't involve any rope jumping though, as he was well aware of where he landed.

Pollard, part 1:

<iframe width="450" height="253" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/hq5TO0En98Y" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The Windies wonder, in this IPL catch, does take advantage of the new rules though, as the Rajasthan Royals discovered in 2014.

Pollard part 2:

<iframe width="450" height="253" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/1qVVqQ1XzFk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

New Zealand paceman Trent Boult used a similar parry and dive to remove… Kieron Pollard!

<iframe width="450" height="253" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/F1tZfayUE2o" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Sometimes you need a friend to make your life easier, and at one stage Yorkshire duo Adam Lyth and Aaron Finch combined a few times this way. Watch here as they take a relay catch in the T20 Blast.

<iframe width="450" height="253" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/4slUD_Z4tdQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Sri Lanka spinner Rangana Herath isn't known for his antics in the field, but here, against Australia in 2012, he took a stunner inside the ropes.

<iframe width="450" height="338" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/9h5ZGtxMKOg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

It's not only in limited-overs cricket that these catches occur, as Sachin Tendulkar discovered in 1996. His superb innings against South Africa came to an end when Adam Bacher took a catch running backwards, and not even looking at the ball.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/uoEZ-pJjatA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Latest