Kiwis include three spinners for World T20

New Zealand

New Zealand included three spinners in their squad for the World T20 in India, starting in March, with Nathan McCullum, Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner preferred for the tournament.

The Kiwis have experimented in their last two series in the shortest format, against Sri Lanka and Pakistan at home, although McCullum has not played international cricket since August last year due to injury.

The 35 year-old McCullum was chosen ahead of legspinner Todd Astle, who went wicketless in his two matches against Pakistan.

Black Caps coach Mike Hesson said: "With the Indian conditions in mind, the plan has always been to take three front-line spinners and all three bring something different.

"It's great to have Nathan available again and his experience in the foreign conditions will be invaluable.

"Both he and Mitch Santner have the ability to bowl in the first six overs, which gives (captain) Kane Williamson a number of options to work with."

Batsman Henry Nicholls, who is uncapped in T20Is, was also included after impressing the selectors with the bat in an ODI against Pakistan, while the 24 year-old will also be the reserve wicketkeeper.

Hesson continued: "Henry has shown his talent and versatility with the bat this summer and has also been used as a wicketkeeper for New Zealand A."

New Zealand WT20 squad: Kane Williamson (capt), Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Grant Elliott, Corey Anderson, Colin Munro, Luke Ronchi (wk), Mitchell Santner, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi