Munro, Watling recalled to Kiwis’ ODI squad

New Zealand

Colin Munro and BJ Waling have been included in New Zealand's ODI squad for the upcoming three-match series against Pakistan, starting in Wellington on Monday.

The squad is depleted with injuries with the likes of Ross Taylor, Tim Southee and skipper Brendon McCullum missing at least the first two games against the Asian side.

The left-handed Munro earned his place in the 50-over team after some explosive performances with the bat in the recent T20 series against Sri Lanka while Watling will take over the wicketkeeping gloves from Luke Ronchi for the last two games.

Black Caps coach Mike Hesson said: "Colin was impressive with the bat during the recent Twenty20 series, but he's also selected on his ability to give us another option with the ball.

"We've talked about the importance of creating depth in all positions and bringing BJ into the side for the second and third ODI will give him some time against the white ball."

New Zealand squad: Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Grant Elliott, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Kane Williamson, Luke Ronchi (first ODI), BJ Watling (second and third ODI), Tom Latham (first two ODIs), Brendon McCullum (third ODI)