Nicholls to lead strong New Zealand A in India


Henry Nicholls will lead New Zealand A in two First Class matches and five One Day matches in a tour against India A later this month.

There will be only one change in the 15-man squad for the different formats, with Jeet Raval being replaced by Glenn Philips following the First Class fixtures.

From the 16 players to tour, 13 have represented the Black Caps previously, with seven currently centrally contracted to NZC.

Selector and Manager for the tour, Gavin Larsen, said the NZ A programme is critical to preparing players for international cricket.

“Going into a significantly different environment to that of the New Zealand domestic scene is a huge opportunity to promote player growth,” said Larsen.

ALSO READ: McClenaghan chooses T20 leagues over country

“Preparing for international cricket is challenging, so this is a great chance for these players to improve their game in sub-continent conditions.”

Larsen expected the team to be very competitive and pointed to an exciting initiative to take a specialist wicket-keeping coach abroad for the first time.

“There’s quite a range of experience within the group, with a number having already featured for the Black Caps and all of them with a chance to impress.

“It will be a new test for the likes of Sean Solia and Will Young, but it’s an opportunity they’ve earned through performance.

“Having Marty Croy there to work with our three young wicketkeepers will be of immense benefit to their development. It’s obviously a very specific skill set and a position we need to build depth in.”

Shane Bond will be the head coach of the side. The team depart for India on 19 September.

NZ A Squad

Henry Nicholls (c) – Canterbury (25 years old)
Todd Astle – Canterbury (30)
Tom Blundell (Wkt) – Wellington (27)
Tom Bruce – Central Districts (26)
Lockie Ferguson – Auckland (26)
Matt Henry – Canterbury (25)
Scott Kuggeleijn – Northern Districts (25)
Colin Munro – Auckland (30)
Glenn Phillips (Wkt) – Auckland (20)
Seth Rance – Central Districts (30)
Jeet Raval – Auckland (28)
Tim Seifert (Wkt) – Northern Districts (22)
Ish Sodhi – Northern Districts (24)
Sean Solia – Auckland (24)
George Worker – Central Districts (28)
Will Young – Central Districts (24)

NZ A tour of India schedule

1st Four Day match – 23-26 September, Vijayawada
2nd Four Day match – 30 September-3 October, Vijayawada

1st One Day match – 6 October, Visakhapatnam
2nd One Day match – 8 October, Visakhapatnam
3rd One Day match – 10 October, Visakhapatnam
4th One Day match – 13 October, Visakhapatnam
5th One Day match – 15 October, Visakhapatnam