Footage: Smith’s sneaky slip catching switch

Blog Opinion

Australia all-rounder Steve Smith is the man about town at the moment, adding to his batting heroics by making some sneaky decisions in the field against Pakistan recently.

Smith moved from regular slip to leg slip, while the ball was being bowled, to catch Fawad Alam in the third ODI, which the Aussies won to secure the whitewash. There was confusion about the legality, but a very new law, which Smith was aware of, showed he was well within his rights.

Previously, a fielder wasn’t allowed to move from his position while the ball was in play, but a new rule says a close catching fielder can respond to the batsman’s movements during delivery, and anticipate where the ball will go.

Watch here how sneaky Smith took full advantage of new conditions.

Latest