Rashid Khan to lead Afghanistan spin attack in historic Test


Afghanistan have included four spinners in their squad for their historic inaugural Test against India that starts on 14 June.

Slow-bowlers Rashid Khan and Mujeeb Ur Rahman, who have both just come off a successful IPL season with Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kings XI Punjab respectively, will be joined in the 16-man squad by Amir Hamza and Zahir Khan.

Hamza, a left-arm off-spinner, was the leading wicket-taker in Afghanistan’s domestic first-class competition while the 19-year-old Zahir starred in the U19 World Cup earlier this year.

Fast bowler Wafadar, who is 18-years-old, is the only uncapped international in a squad that is missing experienced paceman Dawlat Zadran because of a knee injury.

Asghar Stanikzai will have the honour of leading his country in their first ever Test.

Meanwhile, Stanikzai will also lead a more youthful Afghanistan squad in a three-match T20I series against Bangladesh that starts on Sunday.

Only five players – Stanikzai, Rashid, Mujeeb, Mohammad Nabi and wicketkeeper Mohammad Shahzad – from the Test squad have been picked for the series in shortest format against the Tigers.

Afghanistan Test squad: Asghar Stanikzai (capt), Javed Ahmadi, Ihsanullah, Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Nasir Jamal, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Amir Hamza, Sayed Shirzad, Yamin Ahmadzai, Wafadar, Zahir Khan

Squad for Bangladesh T20Is: Asghar Stanikzai (capt), Najeeb Tarakai, Usman Ghani, Mohammad Shahzad, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Samiullah Shenwari, Shafiqullah, Darwish Rasooli, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Shapoor Zadran, Aftab Alam