Sri Lanka appoint Malinga as captain for limited-overs series in NZ


Lasith Malinga has been appointed as Sri Lanka’s ODI and T20I captain for the upcoming limited-overs series in New Zealand.

The 35-year-old Malinga will lead the 17-man squad for the three ODIs and one-off T20I against the Black Caps starting on 3 January.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella has been named vice-captain for the matches while former skipper Angelo Mathews returns to the squad after being dropped for the home series against England.

Dinesh Chandimal had most recently led Sri Lanka’s ODI team, against England, while Thisara Perera was the T20 captain in the same tour.

Malinga had been dropped by Sri Lanka for more thana year due to poor form and fitness issues before returning for the Asia Cup in September.

Mathews, Chandimal and Thisara are all in the current squad, but will perform no official leadership functions.

Also making a return to international cricket is leg-spinner Seekkuge Prasanna, who last played in an ODI in October 2017.

It is thought that the selection of the 33-year-old Prassana is with a view to next year’s World Cup in the UK as Prassana has been playing List A cricket at county side Northamptonshire.

Sri Lanka ODI and T20I squad: Lasith Malinga (capt), Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Angelo Mathews, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Asela Gunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Lakshan Sandakan, Seekkuge Prasanna, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara.