Pradeep recalled to Sri Lanka’s Test squad

Sri Lanka

Nuwan Pradeep and Dhananjaya de Silva were recalled to Sri Lanka’s squad for the first Test against India, starting in Galle on Wednesday.

Seamer Pradeep has been sidelined for the last two weeks because of a hamstring niggle and replaces Dushmantha Chameera from the 15-man squad that beat Zimbabwe.

Dhananjaya, a batting allrounder, replaces new Test captain Dinesh Chandimal, who was diagnosed with pneumonia and will miss the opening Test of the three-match series.

Left-arm wristspinner Lakshan Sandakan was also dropped and replaced by uncapped tweaker Malinda Pushpakumara, who is 30-years-old.

Although he has yet to play international cricket in any format, Pushpakumara has been one of the outstanding performers on Sri Lanka’s domestic circuit, boasting a bowling average of 19.95 after 99 first-class games.

It has already been confirmed that veteran spinner Rangana Herath will lead the side in the first Test against India in the absence of Chandimal.

Sri Lanka squad for first Indies Test: Rangana Herath (capt), Upul Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Malinda Pushpakumara, Nuwan Pradeep