Strong Indian Test squad announced

India have announced their squad for the upcoming three Test series against New Zealand, retaining 15 of the 17 players from the squad that visited the Caribbean.

Allrounder Stuart Binny and seamer Shardul Thakur were the two players cut as India return to home soil to face off with the Black Caps.

Thakur did not make any appearances on the tour apart from the tour match against the WICB President’s XI and has since joined up with India A as they tour Australia, playing in the first four-day game against Australia A and taking four wickets.

Binny failed to feature in any of the four Tests, but stayed on with the squad for the two T20Is in the United States, and memorably got smashed for five sixes in an over by Evin Lewis.

The squad has a settled and balance look to it, great news for the home team as they prepare for a bumper Test season which will see India feature in 13 Tests between now and March 2017.

The first Test gets underway in Kanpur on September 22, the second and third Tests will be staged in Kolkata and Indore respectively.

India Test Squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Ajinkya Rahane, R Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra, Mohammed Shami, Cheteshwar Pujara, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha, Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, M Vijay, Umesh Yadav