Paine named Australia ODI captain for England tour

Tim Paine has been named as captain of Australia’s ODI squad for next month’s tour to England with batsman Aaron Finch selected to be the wicketkeeper’s deputy in what was Justin Langer’s first major decision as Aussie coach.

Paine took over the Test captaincy after Steve Smith and David Warner were banned following the ball-tampering scandal that hit Australian cricket on their tour to South Africa in March.

There are also recalls to the ODI squad for batsman Shaun Marsh and spinner Nathan Lyon while D’Arcy Short is chosen for the first time in the 50-over format.

It will be an important tour for the Aussies with all players fighting for spots for next year’s World Cup also to be held in the UK.

Australia selector Trevor Hohns said: “Obviously, these are the conditions we will face during the tournament so now is a perfect chance to give these players an opportunity to press their case for selection.

“Tim is a strong leader and will captain the side for this series, supported by Aaron. A decision on a permanent one-day captain will be made in due course.

“D’Arcy is relatively new to one-day cricket but impressed us with his form in T20 cricket last season. He brings an all-round package to the side, with strong fielding and bowling skills, and we believe he will combine very well with Aaron at the top of the order.

“Nathan is our No. 1 off-spinner and has excelled with the red ball, however he is not new to white-ball cricket and deserves his chance to push for World Cup selection.

“England potentially have a number of left-handers in their side and we look forward to seeing what he can produce with the white ball in English conditions.”

Finch will lead a 15-man T20 squad that was selected for a one-off game in England and a tri-series tournament to be held in Zimbabwe which will also include Pakistan.

South Australia gloveman Louis Carey will be vice-captain to Finch in the shortest format with Nic Maddinson, Jack Wildermuth and Mitchell Swepson also called up to the squad.

Australia ODI squad: Tim Paine (capt & wk), Aaron Finch (vice-capt), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (wk), Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye

T20 squad: Aaron Finch (capt), Alex Carey (vice-capt & wk), Ashton Agar, Travis Head, Nic Maddinson, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Andrew Tye, Jack Wildermuth