Vijay returns to India Test squad


Murali Vijay has returned to India’s Test squad for the first two games of the three-match series against Sri Lanka which starts in Kolkata from 16 November.

Opening batsman Vijay, who missed the Test series in Sri Lanka earlier this year due to injury, takes the place of Abhinav Mukund.

Spin twins Ravi Jadeja and Ravi Ashwin will reunite in the longest format having been left out of recent squads in limited-overs cricket.

There had been speculation that captain Virat Kohli asked to be rested for the final Test of the seris and with the squad only chosen for the first two games that is still a possibility.

India’s chairman of selectors, MSK Prasad, said: “With regard to Virat Kohli there has been some speculation that he’s going to be rested for the whole of Sri Lanka series.  It’s not right.

“Yes, as far as Test series is concerned, he’s going to play and at some point of time, the rotation policy that we’re following will also apply to the captain.

“We’re also monitoring his workload – he’s been playing continuously right from the IPL. We need to give him a break and we will consider after the Test series.”

India squad for first two Tests: Virat Kohli (capt), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar