Windies introduce player contracts for different formats


West Indies have designed a new contract system, that will take effect from 1 July, that will see players being contracted for the different formats.

The new contracts will be divided into three categories – all-format contracts, red-ball contracts, and white-ball contracts.

Only five players, including Test captain Jason Holder, were given all-format contracts.

The new system comes after several high-profile players, including Kieron Pollard and Sunil Narine, opted to skip the World Cup qualifiers in March to play in the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

ALSO READ: Windies stars opt to play PSL ahead of WC qualifiers

A maximum of 11 all-format contracts can be awarded. For red-ball and white-ball contracts, the aggregate can go up to 11, and the total number of contracts is capped at 18.

Johnny Grave, the chief executive officer of West Indies cricket, said: “The new retainer contracts aim to incentivise our players to play cricket for the WINDIES and be contracted to CWI,”

“All the new contracts offer increased remuneration to our Windies men’s team as well as enhanced medical and insurance policies.

“All future contracts for all of our professional cricketers will start on the same date, July 1, which will become the start of our cricketing year.”

List of retained players

All-format contracts – Jason Holder, Shannon Gabriel, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Devendra Bishoo

Red-ball contracts – Kraigg Brathwaite, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Jermaine Blackwood, Miguel Cummins, Jomel Warrican (Development – Shimron Hetmyer, Kieran Powell, Vishaul Singh)

White-ball contracts – Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse, Jason Mohammed, Evin Lewis, Rovman Powell (Development – Kesrick Williams)