Windies lose three players for limited-overs series


West Indies suffered a blow when three players – Marlon Samuels, Sunil Narine and Alzarri Joseph – were ruled out of the limited-overs series in New Zealand.

Batsman Samuels pulled out due to a hand injury while seam bowler Joseph has had top to withdraw because of a back strain.

Spinner Narine, who was only selected in the T20 squad, withdrew due to personal reasons.

The Caribbean side already lost Sunil Ambris due to the blow he took to his left arm in the second Test and has already been replaced in the ODI squad by Shimron Hetmyer.

Left-arm seamer Sheldon Cottrell and wicketkeeper-batsman Chadwick Walton, who is part of the T20 squad, will now be in the ODI squad as well.

Ashley Nurse, who was initially dropped from T20 squad, has been named as Narine’s replacement.

The Windies will play three ODIs and three T20Is in New Zealand with the start of the 50-over internationals set to take place in Whangarei on 20 December.

Updated ODI squad: Jason Holder (capt), Jason Mohammed, Shimron Hetmyer, Ronsford Beaton, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Kyle Hope, Shai Hope (wk), Sheldon Cottrell, Evin Lewis, Nikita Miller, Ashley Nurse, Rovman Powell, Chadwick Walton, Kesrick Williams

Updated T20 squad: Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Samuel Badree, Ronsford Beaton, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Mohammed, Ashley Nurse, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Shai Hope, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton, Kesrick Williams