IPL Auction: Over 300 overseas players register, 1,214 in total


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) are making final preparations for the mega auction of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 with 1214 players registered for the event.

The 10-team two-day auction will see 270 players with international experience go under the hammer.

BCCI secretary Jay Shah revealed that 1214 players had registered for the auction by the 20 January 2022 deadline.

“Total of 1,214 players (896 Indian and 318 overseas players) have signed up to be part of the IPL 2022 Player Auction,” a terse BCCI press release said.

“The two-day Mega Auction will see 10 Teams bidding for some of the finest talents in world cricket.

“The players list incorporates 270 capped, 903 uncapped and 41 Associate players.”

Among the capped internationals, there are 61 players who have turned out for India on the biggest stage.

Australia is the nation, other than India, with the most players in the auction with 59 players submitting their applications.

There are also 48 South Africans, 41 from the West Indies and 36 from Sri Lanka.

A number of England stars have withdrawn their interest in a bid to focus on their Test careers, including Joe Root and Ben Stokes.

There are still 30 Englishmen who have signed up for the IPL auction of 2022.

The existing eight IPL Franchises have retained a total of 27 players while the two new IPL teams have picked six players ahead of the Auction.

Afghan superstar Rashid Khan has been picked by Team Ahmedabad alongside Hardik Pandya and Shubnam Gill.

Meanwhile at team Lucknow, Marcus Stoinis was their international pick together with potential skipper KL Rahul and Ravi Bishnoi.

A maximum of 70 overseas players can be secured at the upcoming IPL auction while the greatest number of players that can be sold is fixed at 217.

Full list of players retained:
Chennai Super Kings (CSK): Ravindra Jadeja (16 crore), MS Dhoni (12 crore), Moeen Ali (8 crore), Ruturaj Gaikwad (6 crore)

Balance purse: Rs 48 crore

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR): Andre Russell (12 crore, 16 crore to be deducted from purse), Varun Chakravarthy (8 crore, 12 crore to be deducted from purse), Venkatesh Iyer (8 crore), Sunil Narine (6 crore)

Balance purse: Rs 48 crore

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH): Kane Williamson (14 crore), Abdul Samad (4 crore), Umran Malik (4 crore)

Balance purse: Rs 68 crore

Mumbai Indians (MI): Rohit Sharma (16 crore), Jasprit Bumrah (12 crore), Suryakumar Yadav(8 crore), Kieron Pollard (6 crore)

Balance purse: Rs 48 crore

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB): Virat Kohli (15 crore), Glenn Maxwell (11 crore), Mohammed Siraj (7 crore)

Balance purse: Rs. 57 crore

Delhi Capitals (DC): Rishabh Pant (16 crore), Axar Patel (9 crore, 12 crore to be deducted from purse), Prithvi Shaw (7.5 crore, 8 crore to be deducted from purse), Anrich Nortje (6.5 crore)

Balance purse: Rs 47.5 crore

Rajasthan Royals (RR): Sanju Samson (14 crore), Jos Buttler (10 crore), Yashasvi Jaiswal (4 crore)

Balance purse: Rs 62 crore

Punjab Kings (PBKS): Mayank Agarwal (12 crore, 14 crore to be deducted from purse), Arshdeep Singh (4 crore)

Balance purse: Rs 72 crore

Full list of players released:
Chennai Super Kings (CSK): Faf du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo, Suresh Raina, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur

Delhi Capitals (DC): Shreyas Iyer, Avesh Khan, Kagiso Rabada, R Ashwin

Mumbai Indians (MI): Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Trent Boult, Rahul Chahar

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH): Rashid Khan, David Warner, Jonny Bairstow, Manish Pandey

Rajasthan Royals (RR): Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, David Miller, Chris Morris, Liam Livingstone

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR): Eoin Morgan, Shubman Gill, Lockie Ferguson, Nitish Rana

Punjab Kings (PBKS): KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Ravi Bishnoi, Nicholas Pooran, Shahrukh Khan

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB): Devdutt Padikkal, Yuzvendra Chahal, Harshal Patel, Washington Sundar