SuperSport won’t broadcast IPL in South Africa


SuperSport will not broadcast the 2023 edition of the Indian Premier League.

This will be the first time in the history of the tournament, which started in 2008, that SuperSport have not afforded South African viewers coverage.

“SuperSport previously held broadcast rights to the Indian Premier League (IPL). Following unsuccessful commercial discussions with the rights holder, we will therefore not broadcast the IPL as of this year’s edition,” read a statement from SuperSport.

“Sport lovers are in for a treat over the next three months with a feast of major sport from around the world, despite the Indian Premier League not being on the SuperSport schedule. Your world of champions still has loads of exciting live sports coming your way. Don’t miss out on any of the action.”

Fans and subscribers wondering how to watch the IPL in South Africa this year publicly questioned SuperSport’s inability to acquire the broadcast rights.

Several Proteas cricketers are involved in the tournament, including Sunrisers Hyderabad trio Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram and Marco Jansen, Delhi Capitals trio Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje and Rilee Rossouw, Lucknow Super Giants’ Quinton de Kock and Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Faf du Plessis.

Other South Africans uncapped at international level are also involved, including Rajasthan Royals batsman Donovan Ferreira and Mumbai Indians all-rounder Duan Jansen.

Proteas fast bowler Sisanda Magala was a late edition to the tournament.

“I’m very happy to be given an opportunity to play in the IPL. When you get to specialise in white-ball cricket, then it indeed becomes the pinnacle. It’s a massive opportunity, and to be honest, I’m very nervous,” said Magala.

The Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the history of the IPL. They have won five titles.

The Chennai Super Kings have won the tournament four times. The Kolkata Knight Riders have won it twice.

The Gujarat Titans are the reigning champions. They beat the Rajasthan Royals in the 2022 final.

Delhi, Bangalore and the Punjab Kings have never won the IPL.

The IPL is almost always played in India. It was hosted in South Africa in 2009. It has also been played in the United Arab Emirates.