Watson’s ton gives Chennai Super Kings IPL trophy


Shane Watson struck a brilliant century to guide the Chennai Super Kings to the 2018 IPL title after an eight-wicket victory over the Sunrisers Hyderabad on Sunday.

Former Australia international Watson scored a sizzling 117 not out off 57 balls (11 fours and 8 sixes) as the Super Kings chased down a target 179 with more than an over to spare.

After not scoring any runs off his first 10 balls, Watson cut loose to put the Sunrisers’ bowlers to sword at the Wankede Stadium in Mumbai.

Watson received good support from Suresh Raina (32 off 24 balls), who rotated the strike, as the duo added 117 for the second wicket after the dismissal of Faf du Plessis (10).

Earlier, the Sunrisers thought they had a competitive total on the board when they reached 178/6 off their 20 overs.

Sunrisers captain Kane Williamson top-scored for his team with 47 while Yusuf Pathan added some impetus to the innings at the end with an unbeaten 45 off 24 balls while Carlos Brathwaite mowed 21 off 11 balls at the other end.

Proteas fast bowler Lungi Ngidi was again impressive with the ball for Chennai, finishing with figures of 1-26 in his four overs.

The victory will be especially sweet for the Chennai franchise as this is their first time back in the IPL after a two-year absence because of a corruption scandal.

The men in yellow also saw their home games moved to Pune in the middle of this season’s tournament because of water drought in Chennai.

However, they put all that aside to capture their third IPL trophy in the competition’s 11-year history.