AB retains top spot in ODI batting rankings

By stint of a series of impressive batting displays the top 10 has re-jigged and a number of South Africa batsmen have risen in the ICC player rankings for ODI batsmen.

Skipper AB de Villiers retains his number one ranking, and is now 96 points clear of India's Virat Kohli in second place, after scoring three centuries (104 not out, 112 and 119) in five matches.

Hashim Amla has dropped three places to fifth, while Dhoni has moved up two places to sixth and holds an 11-point advantage over his team-mate Shikhar Dhawan.

There is a career high jump of seven places for Faf du Plessis who is level in 10th place by wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock who has vaulted 13 places after scoring 318 runs in the series, including 103 and a match-winning 109 in the decider.

There were also gains for Rohit Sharma (up three places to 12th) and career-high gains for Ajinkya Rahane (up 11 to 27th) and Farhaan Behardien (up 12 to 76th).

Following the series in Zimbabwe the following batsmen have also risen up the rankings; Sikandar Raza (up 14 to 40th), Sean Williams (up seven to 44th), Mohammad Nabi (up 19 to a career-high 47th) and Craig Ervine (up 19 to 61st), while Noor Ali Zadran has broken into the top 100 for the first time after vaulting 26 places to 93rd.

Rank               Player                Team       Pts         Ave        

   1               AB de Villiers         SA        900        54.21    
   2               Virat Kohli             Ind        804        50.60     

   3               K. Williamson        NZ        788        48.02     

   4               T. Dilshan             SL         781        39.71    

   5               Hashim Amla        SA        776        52.70    

   6               MS Dhoni              Ind       741        52.26     

   7               S. Dhawan             Ind       730        42.93    

   8               Ross Taylor            NZ        728        43.91     

   9               Glenn Maxwell      Aus       717        34.88     

  10=            F. du Plessis          SA        715!       39.65     

                   Q. de Kock             SA        715        39.86