Abbott, Rabada rewarded with CSA contracts

2015 World Cup

Cricket South Africa have announced their lists of centrally contracted and High Performance players for the year, with two changes made to the national list as fast bowlers Kagiso Rabada and Kyle Abbott were added.

Rabada, who shot to prominence during the Under 19 World Cup last year, and has since played in the shorter formats for the Proteas, recently broke the domestic record by taking nine wickets for the Lions in an innings, eclipsing Dale Steyn's benchmark.

Abbott, meanwhile, is with the Proteas at the World Cup, and was impressive in the win against the West Indies. The players at the World Cup not to get a central deal were batsmen Farhaan Behardien and Rilee Rossouw, while Ryan McLaren, left out of the trip, did get a central deal.

The senior core group of players were again given two-year-deals, though Vernon Philander was not one of them, and neither was Imran Tahir nor David Miller. Wayne Parnell held on to his one-year deal though.

Two-year deals

Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn

One-year deals

Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

High Performance deals

Temba Bavuma, Farhaan Behardien, Simon Harmer, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Eddie Leie, Mangaliso Mosehle, Dane Piedt, Rilee Rossouw, Mthokozisi Shezi, Stiaan van Zyl, Khaya Zondo