Amla tops South African award nominations

The countdown has begun for Cricket South Africa’s glittering season-ending awards function, to be held on 3 June, with Test skipper Hashim Amla nominated for three top awards.

Amla has been nominated for the ODI, Test and Cricketer of the year, while Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, Morne Morkel and Dale Steyn have are in line for two gongs. De Villiers will be defending his Cricketer of the Year title.

Commenting on the judging process, Convener of the judging panel, Aslam Khota, highlighted the closeness in determining the nominees for the various categories.

He said: "We really had a tough time in reaching the shortlisted nominees. We were blessed with excellent and consistence performances on both the domestic and international front and this created healthy debate amongst the panel as we finalized the shortlist."

Selected List of Awards and Nominations:

International T20 Cricketer of the Year: David Wiese, Faf du Plessis, Morne van Wyk

ODI Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla, Morne Morkel, AB de Villiers, Imran Tahir

Test Cricketer of the Year: Dean Elgar, Hashim Amla, Dale Steyn

Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Dane van Niekerk

SA Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn

Momentum One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Season: Andrew Puttick (Nashua Cape Cobras), Dean Elgar (The Unlimited Titans), Robin Peterson (Nashua Cape Cobras)

RAM Slammer of the Season: Kieron Pollard (Nashua Cape Cobras), Eddie Leie (bizhub Highveld Lions), Richard Levi (Nashua Cape Cobras)

Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Season: Hardus Viljoen (bizhub Highveld Lions), Kagiso Rabada (bizhub Highveld Lions), Stephen Cook (bizhub Highveld Lions), Dane Paterson (Nashua Cape Cobras)

CSA Coach of the Season: Rob Walter (The Unlimited Titans), Geoffrey Toyana (bizhub Highveld Lions), Paul Adams (Nashua Cape Cobras)

Domestic Newcomer of the Season: Theunis de Bruyn (The Unlimited Titans), Kagiso Rabada (bizhub Highveld Lions), George Linde (Nashua Cape Cobras)

The judging panel for this seasons awards comprised:

Aslam Khota (Convener)
HD Ackerman
Victor Mpitsang
Neil Manthorp
Makhaya Ntini
Andrew Samson (Statistician)