Australia announce squad for SA tour


The Cricket Australia National Selection Panel have named a 15-man squad for the tour of South Africa which gets underway in late September.

With Australia’s pace spearheads Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood both missing the series the fast-bowling attack sees the inclusion of three debutants; Victorian Chris Tremain and South Australian’s Joe Mennie and Daniel Worrall.

Commenting on the inclusions of Tremain, Mennie and Worrall, National Selector Rod Marsh said: “Chris, Joe and Daniel all had terrific summers last year and have also impressed us during the recent Australia A series with consistent performances.

“They are young players with a bright future who thoroughly deserve their selection and we look forward to seeing them work with John Hastings and Scott Boland, who have both performed well for Australia since returning from injury.”

The tour of South Africa consists of six matches with the first match to be played against Ireland on 27 September followed by five matches against South Africa beginning on 30 September.

Australian squad: Steve Smith (C), David Warner (VC), George Bailey, Scott Boland, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Joe Mennie, Chris Tremain, Matthew Wade, Daniel Worrall, Adam Zampa