Australia hand quick Tait shock T20I recall


Australia have named their squad for the T20 series against India later this month, and have made the shock inclusion of veteran fast bowler Shaun Tait, who last played for the Aussies in 2011.

Tait, who has been in good form for the Hurricanes in the Big Bash League, is being given the chance to impress ahead of the World Twenty20 in March. Also called up is spinner Nathan Lyon, not a regular pick for the format.

There is also reward for batsman Chris Lynn, who was surprisingly not picked for the ODI side despite his excellent form, while veteran all-rounder Shane Watson has also been given another shot thanks to his BBL exploits.

National Selector Rod Marsh said: "Shaun Tait returns on the basis that he is the quickest bowler going around in Australia at the moment and he offers us that explosive option if we choose to use it."

Of WAtson, he added: "Shane Watson has earned his recall to Australian colours through a combination of his experience – especially in short-form cricket – the all-round package he offers and the fact he is bang in form at the moment, having put performances on the board for the Sydney Thunder."

Interestingly, there was no place for former T20 skipper George Bailey, nor all-rounder Mitchell Marsh, with the selectors opting for James Faulkner and Watson instead, as well as batsman Travis Head.

Marsh added: "Sadly we could not find places for George Bailey and Mitchell Marsh in the Twenty20 International squad but for both of them, and for others who have missed out on places in that line-up, the door is certainly not closed for selection for the ICC World Twenty20.

"We know what both those players are capable of, and both have significant experience of playing Twenty20 cricket in India where the ICC World Twenty20 takes place,  but we want them to continue to press their cases for inclusion while we take this opportunity to look at other contenders."

Australia 17-man squad: Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Steve Smith, Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, John Hastings, Shaun Marsh, Cameron Boyce, Nathan Lyon, Chris Lynn, Travis Head, Kane Richardson, Andrew Tye, Scott Boland, Shaun Tait