Australia to start domestic season mid-October in Adelaide bubble

Australia Sheffield Shield

Australia will begin their domestic cricket season in October with four rounds of the first-class Sheffield Shield set to take place in a bio-secure environment in Adelaide.

At a meeting of the Australian Cricket Council last month, stakeholders committed to ensuring a full Sheffield Shield season is completed across the 2020/21 summer.

Cricket Australia further hope to play the One-Day Cup, with the List A competition set to follow the Big Bash League in early 2021.

South Australia will face Western Australia in the opening round starting on 10 October while Queensland will clash with Tasmania. The scheduled first round fixture between New South Wales and Victoria will be postponed until 17 November. This is as a result of the 14-day quarantine period imposed on those arriving into South Australia from Victoria.

Australia committed to Shield

Cricket Australia have acknowledged the importance of the first-class competition in providing the base for the success of the game Downunder.

“The Marsh Sheffield Shield is an incredibly strong competition and for generations has been a crucial factor in the success of the Australian men’s team,” CA chief executive Nick Hockley said. “It is the envy of cricketing countries throughout the world. We would like to thank the South Australian government for their willingness to work together to deliver these fixtures.

“Many people have worked incredibly hard to arrive at this outcome, whilst recognising that player and staff safety and wellbeing remains the priority and having government restrictions in place to keep the community safe from Covid-19.

“CA will also be staging full WBBL and BBL competitions this summer, so there will be no shortage of action and opportunity for our women’s and men’s players.

“I would like to thank all our stakeholders across the game for their support, most notably the State and Territory Associations and the Australian Cricketers’ Association.”

2020-21 Sheffield Shield fixtures

Round 1

10-13 October: South Australia v Western Australia, Karen Rolton Oval

10-13 October: Queensland v Tasmania, Park 25

17-20 November: New South Wales v Victoria, venue TBC

Round 2

19-22 October: South Australia v Tasmania, Karen Rolton Oval

19-22 October: Western Australia v Queensland, Park 25

22-25 October: Victoria v New South Wales, Adelaide Oval No. 2

Round 3

30 October- 2 November: New South Wales v Western Australia, Karen Rolton Oval

30 October- 2 November: Victoria v Tasmania, Park 25

30 October- 2 November: South Australia v Queensland, ACH Group Stadium, Glenelg

Round 4

8-11 November: Queensland v Victoria, Karen Rolton Oval

8-11 November: Western Australia v Tasmania, Park 25

8-11 November: South Australia v NSW, ACH Group Stadium, Glenelg