Australia vs India: Fixtures locked in for bumper tour


Changes to the schedule for the eagerly anticipated Test, ODI and T20I Series between the Australia and India have been confirmed.

The final fixture list was released on Wednesday 28 October after the conclusion of meetings between the medical staff of the respective camps and the BCCI agreeing to the schedule.

Adelaide will host first Test

The Test series will begin with a day-night encounter at the Adelaide Oval on 17 December, followed by Tests at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (26 December), the Sydney Cricket Ground (7 January) and the Gabba (15 January). 

The Adelaide fixture will be the first day-night Test played between the Australian and Indian men’s teams, lending added significance to a series between two of cricket’s greatest rivals.

Both teams sport perfect records in day-night Test cricket with Australia winning all four of their twilight Tests in Adelaide against New Zealand, South Africa, England and Pakistan, and India winning its only encounter at Eden Gardens versus Bangladesh in 2019.

Australian are currently top the ICC’s Test rankings. However, India will be buoyed by the knowledge that they have won three of the previous four series against Australia, including a first-ever series win on Australian soil in 2018-19. India are just two rankings points back on Australia and could leapfrog New Zealand and Australia into the top spot if things go their way.

Australia men’s international summer will commence with the three-match ODI Series against the tourists at the Sydney Cricket Ground (November 27, 29) and Manuka Oval, Canberra (2 December). That will be followed by the three-match T20 International Series at Manuka Oval, Canberra (4 December) and the Sydney Cricket Ground (December 6, 8). 

Shikhar Dhawan India Australia World Cup PA
Shikhar Dhawan India vs Australia – 2019 World Cup

Both white-ball series should be keenly contested. The Australian men’s team is fresh from an away ODI series win over world champions England, while India holds a slight edge over its rival in the 50-over format with a 12-10 win-loss record against Australia over the past five years.   

Australia are also currently ranked number one in the world in the ICC’s T20I rankings and recorded a 2-0 away series win over India last year. India, however, holds a 5-4 win-loss advantage over Australia in its past ten T20I matches. 

Nick Hockley, CA’s Interim Chief Executive Officer, thanked the Board of Control for Cricket in India for working constructively with Cricket Australia despite the challenging coronavirus pandemic. 

“Across all three formats, Australia and India represents one of the great rivalries in world sport and we are delighted to welcome Virat Kohli’s outstanding squad to Australian shores this summer,” Hockley said.  

“We have worked closely with the BCCI for many months to bring this tour to life, and I cannot speak more highly of the professional, thorough and collaborative manner with which they have approached this tour in these extraordinary and complex times. 

“I would like to express my gratitude to everyone at the BCCI for the faith and support they have shown in the plan we have developed, which we believe will result in a safe and successful summer for all involved. 

“We would also like to especially thank the NSW Government for allowing players from both teams to safely prepare during quarantine, as well as other governments and health authorities who have worked with us to host a series which, I have no doubt, will live long in the memories of all who experience it. 

“I would also like to thank everyone across Australian cricket and our valued partners for working tirelessly to navigate through the challenges to deliver a schedule that will bring joy and excitement to hundreds of millions of fans at home and abroad. 

“The safety of the Australian community and all participants is our highest priority and we will continue to work with governments across Australia to ensure the schedule proceeds in line with relevant directions and biosecurity protocols. In relation to the Boxing Day Test at the MCG, we are working with the Victorian Government and the Melbourne Cricket Club on plans to safely host spectators at the iconic event with details to be confirmed in due course.”

Zampa Australia Chris Morris
Australia spinner Adam Zampa.

NSW Minister for Jobs, Investment, Tourism and Western Sydney, Stuart Ayres said: “The NSW Government is pleased to support Cricket Australia and ensure that Australians get to see a Summer of cricket.” 

NSW Acting Minister for Sport, Geoff Lee said: “We can’t wait to host one of the world’s best teams for a terrific summer of cricket with the SCG ready to host the third test in January. NSW loves its cricket and we are so pleased we could work hand in hand with Cricket Australia to make this series happen.”

In addition to the international fixtures, CA also confirmed the dates for tour matches ahead of the Test series. India A will take on Australia A at Drummoyne Oval (December 6-8), and India will play Australia A in a day-night match at the Sydney Cricket Ground (December 11-13). 

India’s squad will arrive in Sydney on 12 November subject to Australian Border Force travel authorisation and the appropriate departure-approvals. The team will quarantine in Sydney prior to the first match of the series on 27 November.  

India tour to Australia – fixtures

ODI Series: Australia vs India   

First ODI: Friday 27 November – Sydney Cricket Ground (Day-Night) 

Second ODI: Sunday 29 November – Sydney Cricket Ground (Day-Night) 

Third ODI: Wednesday 2 December – Manuka Oval, Canberra (Day-Night) 

T20I Series: Australia vs India

First T20: Friday 4 December – Manuka Oval, Canberra (Night) 

Second T20: Sunday 6 December – Sydney Cricket Ground (Night) 

Third T20: Tuesday 8 December – Sydney Cricket Ground (Night) 

Test Series: Australia vs India

First Test: 17-21 December – Adelaide Oval (Day-Night) 

Second Test: 26-30 December – Melbourne Cricket Ground 

Third Test: 7-11 January – Sydney Cricket Ground 

Fourth Test: 15-19 January – The Gabba, Brisbane 

*The matches and travel remain subject to any relevant government restrictions or requirements.